Skip to content Skip to navigation

PROJECTS AND PARTICIPANTS

Event Type: 
Date and Time: 
Monday, June 27, 2016 - 10:00
Location: 
The William F. Durand Building Building 5440 at 496 Lomita Mall Stanford Universi
Event Sponsor: 
Parviz Moin, Director of Center for Turbulence Research

COMBUSTION

Effects of wall heat transfer on flame stabilization and dynamics
Abdulla Ghani, Thierry Poinsot
Fluid Mechanics Institute, Toulouse (CNRS)/CERFACS, France
Host(s):    Lucas Esclapez

Indirect Combustion Noise Simulation in a High Pressure Turbine Stage
Friedrich Bake
German Aerospace Center, Berlin
Host(s):    Jeff O’Brien, Jeonglae Kim

Including real fuel chemistry in Large Eddy Simulation of turbulent combustion
Bénédicte Cuenot, Anne Felden
CERFACS Toulouse, France
Host(s):    Lucas Esclapez, Hai Wang

Inspecting Lagrangian Coherent Structures in turbulent combustion
Vineeth Nair
Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay
Host(s):    Matthias Ihme, Luca Magri

Analysis of a Transverse Combustion Instability in a Full Rocket Engine Under Supercritical Conditions
Laurent Selle, Annafederica Urbano
French National Center for Scientific Research
Host(s):    Daniel Banuti, Lluis Jofre-Cruanyes, Dokyun Kim

Sub-grid scale modeling of the equation of state for fully compressible large-eddy simulation of oxy-combustion
Guillaume Ribert, Luc Vervisch, Pascale Domingo
INSA de Rouen / CNRS CORIA, France
Host(s):    Matthias Ihme

Evaluation of optimal ignition placement using adjoint techniques
Ubaid A. Qadri
Imperial College, London
Host(s):    Luca Magri

Evaluation of the Subgrid Turbulence Dispersion Model for Spray under the Influence of Flames
Xinyu Zhao
University of Connecticut
Host(s):    Lucas Esclapez, Javier Urzay


LES AND WALL MODELING

A Comparative Study of Wall Models for LES of a NACA 4412 airfoil at near-stall conditions
Prahladh S. Iyer
National Institute of Aerospace, Virginia
Host(s):    George Park, Mike Howland

Dynamic model for the near-wall region based on reduced rep-resentations and system identification
Peter J. Schmid, Taraneh Sayadi
Imperial College, London / University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Host(s):    Curtis Hamman, Adrian Lozano-Duran

Exploring nonlinear subgrid-scale models and new characteristic length scales for large-eddy simulation
Roel Verstappen, Maurits Silvis
University of Groningen, The Netherlands
Host(s):    Mahdi Abkar, Jane (Hyunji) Bae, Niranjan Ghaisas

Assessment of WMLES in complex geometries
Oriol Lehmkuhl
Technical University of Catalonia
Host(s):    George Park

Towards Real-Time High-Fidelity Simulation using Integral Boundary Layer modeling
Qiqi Wang, Alexandre Marques
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Host(s):    Sanjeeb Bose

Extending the Dynamic Slip Boundary Condition to Variational Multiscale Methods
Corentin Carton de Wiart, Scott Murman
NASA Ames Research Center
Host(s):    Sanjeeb Bose

Large-eddy simulation of roughness induced turbulent separation in adverse pressure gradient
Jongwook Joo
United Technologies Research Center (UTRC)

Host(s):    Sanjeeb Bose, Jeonglae Kim

Towards low-order models of wall turbulence
Beverly McKeon, Kevin Rosenberg, Theresa Saxton-Fox
California Institute of Technology

Host(s):    Adrian Lozano-Duran, Aaron Towne

Statistical Mechanics-based Closures for Large Eddy Simulations
Karthik Duraisamy, Eric Parish
University of Michigan

Host(s):    Parviz Moin, Jane (Hyunji) Bae


AEROACOUSTICS

Effects of heat transfer on transitional states of supersonic boundary layers

Abdellah Hadjadj, Mostafa Safdari Shadloo

Institut National des Sciences Appliquées de Rouen, France

Host(s):    Sanjiva Lele

Laminar boundary layer instability noise:aeroacoustic or hydrodynamic feedback?

Stephane Moreau, Marlene Sanjose

Université de Sherbrooke, Canada

Host(s):    Sanjeeb Bose

Prediction of supersonic heated jet noise using non-parallel flow asymptotics and Large-eddy simulation data within Goldstein’s acoustic analogy

Adrian Sescu, Vasileios Sassanis

Mississippi State University

Host(s):    Sanjiva Lele, Guillaume Bres, Aaron Towne


NUMERICAL METHODS

DNS of a turbulent buoyant helium plume using unstructured high-order low-Mach discretizations

Stefan P. Domino

Sandia National Laboratory

Host(s):    Javier Urzay

Numerical modeling of shockwaves in biomedicine

Stefan Adami

Technische Universität, München, Germany

Host(s):    Ivan Bermejo-Moreno

Development of LES-Subgrid Models for High-Order DG Schemes

Andrea Beck

University of Stuttgart, Germany

Host(s):    Yu Lv

LES of shock-turbulence interaction using unstructured high-order DG

Jean-Sebastien Cagnone, Koen Hillewaert

Cenaero Headquarters, Belgium

Host(s):    Yu Lv


INSTABILITY AND TRANSITION

Very-large-scale, physically realistic spatially-developing direct numerical simulation (DNS) on von Karman rotating disk boundary layer

Xiaohua Wu

Royal Military College of Canada

Host(s):    Parviz Moin

Instability and Transition of a Mach 5.8 Zero Pressure Gradient Boundary Layer Over a Thermomechanically Compliant Panel

Team:       Daniel Bodony

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Host(s):    Daniel Bodony

Evolution of vortex-surface fields in transitional boundary layers

Yue Yang, Yaomin Zhao

Peking University, China

Host(s):    Philipp Hack, Jeonglae Kim

Causal structure evolution in turbulence cascade

X. San Liang

Nanjing Institute of Meteorology, China

Host(s):    Adrian Lozano-Duran

Turbulence modulation by variable density and viscosity

Rene Pecnik, Ashish Patel, Jurriaan W. R. Peeters, Bendiks Jan Boersma           

Delft University of Technology

Host(s):    Mahdi Esmaily-Moghadam

Separation control in a hypersonic compression ramp interaction

Anne-Marie Schreyer

Technische Universität Braunschweig, Germany

Host(s):    Javier Urzay, Ivan Bermejo-Moreno, Jeonglae Kim

Symmetry breaking in 3D wakes

Georgios Rigas

California Institute of Technology

Host(s):    Gianluca Iaccarino


UNCERTAINTY QUANTIFICATION

Model-Form Uncertainty in RANS Simulations: An Approach to Fully Explore Uncertainty Space

Heng Xiao, Jianxun Wang

Virginia Tech

Host(s):    Wouter Edeling

Uncertain Flow Solutions due to Stochastically Varying Geometries

Jan Nordström, Markus Wahlsten

Linköping University, Sweden

Host(s):    Gianluca  Iaccarino, Gianluca Geraci

Adjoint-based sensitivity andalysis of a reactive jet in cross flow

Taraneh Sayadi, Palash Sashittal

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Host(s):    Ik Jang, Luca Magri

Uncertainty Quantification for Turbulent Flow Statistics Using New Insights in Sparse Polynomial Chaos Techniques

Richard Ahlfeld

Imperial College, London

Host(s):    Gianluca Iaccarino, Gianluca Geraci, Aashwin Mishra

Towards a Chaotic Adjoint for LES

Patrick J. Blonigan, Pablo Fernandez del Campo

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Host(s):    Ik Jang, Karthik Duraisamy

Uncertainty Quantification of RANS modeling: Perturbation of the eigenvectors of the deviatoric part of the Reynolds Stress tensor

Roney Thompson

Universidade Federal Fluminense, Brazil

Host(s):    Aashwin Mishra

Second-order statistics of transitional and turbulent spartially evolving flows

Mihailo Jovanovic, Armin Zare

University of Minnesota

Host(s):    Aaron Towne, Adrian Lozano-Duran, Philipp Hack


MULTI-PHASE FLOWS

Modeling Primary Atomization

Marcus Herrmann

Arizona State University

Host(s):    Lluis Jofre-Cruanyes, Ronald Chan

Multiscale Geometrical Lagrangian statistics: Extensions and applications to particleladen turbulent flows

Kai Schneider, Marie Farge Coulombier

Aix-Marseille Université, France

Host(s):    Maxime Bassenne, Jeremy Horowitz, Mahdi Esamily-Moghadam

Why are Sandstorms so Shocking?

Cheng Wan, Mustafa Rahman

King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia

Host(s):    Javier Urzay

Turbulence in Living Fluids

Amin Doostmohammadi

University of Oxford

Host(s):    Javier Urzay

Simulation of a reactive fluidized bed reactor using coupled CFD DEM

Vincent Moureau, Yann Dufresne

French National Centre for Scientific Research

Host(s):    Matthias Ihme

Turbulence and Inertial Eects in Flow Through a Porous Bed: DNS and Analysis

Sourabh V. Apte, Pedram Pakseresht, Xiaoliang He

Oregon State University

Host(s):    Ali Mani

Real-gas effects in transcritical multi-phase injection and mixing at high pressure

Stefan Hickel, Jan Matheis

Technische Universiteit, Delft

Host(s):    Daniel Banuti, Lluis Jofre-Cruanyes


LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

Mahdi Abkar
Center for Turbulence Research
abkar@stanford.edu

Stefan Adami
Technische Universität, München, Germany
stefan.adami@aer.mw.tum.de

Richard Ahlfeld
Imperial College, London
r.ahlfeld14@imperial.ac.uk

Sourabh Apte
Oregon State University
sourabh.apte@oregonstate.edu

Jane (Hyunji) Bae
Center for Turbulence Research
hjbae@stanford.edu

Friedrich Bake
German Aerospace Center, Berlin
friedrich.bake@dlr.de

Maxime Bassenne
Center for Turbulence Research
bassenne@stanford.edu

Daniel Banuti
Center for Turbulence Research
dbanuti@stanford.edu

Andrea Beck
University of Stuttgart, Germany
beck@iag.uni-stuttgart.de

Ivan Bermejo-Moreno
University of Southern California
bermejom@usc.edu

Patrick Blonigan
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
blonigan@mit.edu

Daniel J. Bodony
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
bodony@illinois.edu

Sanjeeb Bose
Cascade Technologies, Inc.
stbose@stanford.edu
stbose@cascadetechnologies.com

Guillaume Bres
Cascade Technologies, Inc.
gbres@cascadetechnologies.com

Jean-Sebastien Cagnone
Cenaero Headquarters, Belgium
jean-sebastien.cagnone@cenaero.be

Corentin Carton de Wiart
NASA Ames Research Center
corentin.cartondewiart@nasa.gov

Ronald Chan
Center for Turbulence Research
whrchan@stanford.edu

Bénédicte Cuenot
CERFACS Toulouse, France
cuenot@cerfacs.fr

Marie Farge Coulombier
Aix-Marseille Université, France
marie.farge@ens.fr

Pascale Domingo
INSA de Rouen / CNRS CORIA, France
domingo@coria.fr

Stefan P. Domino
Sandia National Laboratory
spdomin@sandia.gov

Amin Doostmohammadi
University of Oxford
amin.doostmohammadi@physics.ox.ac.uk

Yann Dufresne
French National Centre for Scientific Research
yann.dufresne@coria.fr

Karthik Duraisamy
University of Michigan
kdur@umich.edu

Wouter Edeling
Center for Turbulence Research
wedeling@stanford.edu

Lucas Esclapez
Center for Turbulence Research
lesclape@stanford.edu

Mahdi Esmaily-Moghadam
Center for Turbulence Research
mesmaily@stanford.edu

Anne Felden
CERFACS Toulouse, France
fanne.af@gmail.com

Pablo Fernandez del Campo
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
pablof@mit.edu

Gianluca Geraci
Center for Turbulence Research
ggeraci@stanford.edu

Niranjan Ghaisas
Center for Turbulence Research
nghaisas@stanford.edu

Abdulla Ghani
Fluid Mechanics Institute, Toulouse (CNRS)/CERFACS, France
ghani@cerfacs.fr

Philipp Hack
Center for Turbulence Research
philipp.hack@stanford.edu

Abdellah Hadjadj
Institut National des Sciences Appliquées de Rouen, France
abdellah.hadjadj@insa-rouen.fr

Curtis Hamman
Center for Turbulence Research
cwhamman@stanford.edu

Xiaoliang He
Oregon State University
hexi@oregonstate.edu

Marcus Herrmann
Arizona State University
marcus.herrmann@asu.edu

Stefan Hickel
Technische Universiteit Delft
s.hickel@tudelft.nl

Koen Hillewaert
Cenaero Headquarters, Belgium
koen.hillewaert@cenaero.be

Jeremy Horwitz
Center for Turbulence Research
horwitz1@stanford.edu

Mike Howland
Johns Hopkins University
mike.howland13@gmail.com

Gianluca Iaccarino
Center for Turbulence Research
jops@stanford.edu

Matthias Ihme
Center for Turbulence Research
mihme@stanford.edu

Prahladh S. Iyer
National Institute of Aerospace, Virginia
prahladh.s.iyer@nasa.gov

Ik Jang
Center for Turbulence Research
ikj@stanford.edu

Lluis Jofre-Cruanyes
Center for Turbulence Research
jofre@stanford.edu

Jongwook Joo
United Technologies Research Center
jongwook@gmail.com

Mihailo Jovanovic
University of Minnesota
mihailo@umn.edu

Dokyun Kim
Cascade Technologies, Inc.
dkkim@stanford.edu
dkkimcascadetechnologies.com

Jeonglae Kim
Center for Turbulence Research
jeokim@stanford.edu

X. San Liang
Nanjing Institute of Meteorology, China
sanliang@courant.nyu.edu

Oriol Lehmkuhl
Technical University of Catalonia

oriol@cttc.upc.edu

Sanjiva Lele
Center for Turbulence Research
lele@stanford.edu

Adrian Lozano-Duran
Center for Turbulence Research
adrianld@stanford.edu

Yu Lv
Cetner for Turbulence Research
ylv@stanford.edu

Luca Magri
Cetner for Turbulence Research

Ali Mani
Center for Turbulence Research
lmagri@stanford.edu

Alexandre Marques
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
noll@mit.edu

Jan Matheis
Technische Universiteit, Delft
jan.matheis@tum.de

Beverly McKeon
California Institute of Technology
mckeon@caltech.edu

Aashwin Mishra
Center for Turbulence Research
aashwin@stanford.edu

Parviz Moin
Director, Center for Turbulence Research
moin@stanford.edu

Stéphane Moreau
Université de Sherbrooke, Canada
stephane.smoreau@gmail.com

Vincent Moureau
French National Centre for Scientific Research
vincent.moureau@coria.fr

Scott Murman
NASA Ames Research Center
scott.m.murman@nasa.gov

Vineeth Nair
Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay
vineeth@aero.iitb.ac.in

Jan Nordström
Linköping University, Sweden
jan.nordstrom@liu.se

Jeff O’Brien
Center for Turbulence Research
jobrien@stanford.edu

Pedram Pakseresht
Oregon State University
pakserep@oregonstate.edu

Eric Parish
University of Michigan
parish@umich.edu

George Park
Center for Turbulence Research
gipark@stanford.edu

Ashish Patel
Delft University of Technology
a.patel@tudelft.nl

Rene Pecnik
Delft University of Technology
r.pecnik@tudelft.nl

Jurriaan W. R. Peeters
Delft University of Technology
J.W.R.Peeters@tudelft.nl

Thierry Poinsot
Fluid Mechanics Institute, Toulouse (CNRS)/CERFACS, France
poinsot@cerfacs.fr

Ubaid A. Qadri
Imperial College, London
u.qadri@imperial.ac.uk

Mustafa Rahman
King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia
mustafa.rahman@kaust.edu.sa

Guillaume Ribert
INSA de Rouen / CNRS CORIA, France
ribert@coria.fr

Georgios Rigas
California Institute of Technology
rigas@caltech.edu

Kevin Rosenberg
California Institute of Technology
krosenbe@caltech.edu

Marlene Sanjose
Université de Sherbrooke, Canada
marlene.sanjose@gmail.com

Palash Sashittal
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
sashitt2@illinois.edu

Vasileios Sassanis
Mississippi State University
sassanisv@gmail.com

Theresa Saxton-Fox
California Institute of Technology
tsaxtonf@caltech.edu

Taraneh Sayadi
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
sayadi@illinois.edu

Peter Schmid
Imperial College, London
peter.schmid@imperial.ac.uk

Kai Schneider
Aix-Marseille Université, France
kschneid@cmi.univ-mrs.fr

Anne-Marie Schreyer
Technische Universität Braunschweig, Germany
a.schreyer@tu-braunschweig.de

Laurent Selle
French National Center for Scientific Research
laurent.selle@imft.fr

Adrian Sescu
Mississippi State University
sescu@ae.msstate.edu

Mostafa Safdari Shadloo
Institut National des Sciences Appliquées de Rouen, France
mostafa.safdari-shadloo@insa-rouen.fr

Maurits Silvis
University of Groningen, The Netherlands
m.h.silvis@rug.nl

Roney Thompson
Universidade Federal Fluminense, Brazil
thompson.roney@gmail.com

Aaron Towne
Center for Turbulence Research
atowne@stanford.edu

Annafederica Urbano
French National Center for Scientific Research
annafederica.urbano@safran.fr

Javier Urzay
Center for Turbulence Research
jurzay@stanford.edu

Roel Verstappen
University of Groningen,  
The Netherlands
r.w.c.p.verstappen@rug.nl

Luc Vervisch
INSA de Rouen / CNRS CORIA, France
vervisch@coria.fr

Markus Wahlsten
Linköping University, Sweden
markus.wahlsten@liu.se

Cheng Wan
King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia
wan.cheng@kaust.edu.sa

Hai Wang
Center for Turbulence Research
haiwang@stanford.edu

Jianxun Wang
Virginia Tech
vtwjx@vt.edu

Qiqi Wang
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
qiqi.wang@gmail.com

Xiaohua Wu
Royal Military College of Canada
xiaohua.wu@rmc.ca

Heng Xiao
Virginia Tech
hengxiao@vt.edu

Yue Yang
Peking University, China
yyg@pku.edu.cn

Armin Zare
University of Minnesota
zarex004@umn.edu

Xinyu Zhao
University of Connecticut
xinyuz@engr.uconn.edu

Yaomin Zhao
Peking University, China
zym89@pku.edu.cn